Exhibition

Roni Horn. ‘SWEET IS THE SWAMP WITH ITS SECRETS’

Pictures of the event

1/3

‘Now I see you. You’re sitting on the bed, back against the wall, legs apart. I’m kneeling between them and you say to me: that was sweet, that was so sweet.’
Roni Horn, ‘CROSSING A FIELD I REMEMBER’

This exhibition reads the work of Roni Horn through the prism of cinema for the first time. Horn’s photography and sculpture are presented alongside clips from Ingmar Bergman’s 1966 drama ‘Persona’. This juxtaposition not only clarifies the profound influence of cinema on Horn’s work, both formally and conceptually, but also sheds light on its intense psychosexuality, which is often submerged under its conceptual rigor and empirical character. While words, literature, and language are often grasped as keys to Horn’s practice, this exhibition reveals that the body, desire and sexuality — the ‘secrets’ of the ‘swamp’ — are equally crucial to the instability and mutability of identity, which is her main theme.

Like many of Roni Horn’s works, Bergman’s film centers on a paired form—the interaction between two women: Elizabeth, an actress who for some unknown reason suddenly refuses to speak, and Alma, the nurse who is assigned to her care. While their ever-changing relationship defies a definitive narrative, Bergman presents visually and formally a peeling off of each character’s masks to reveal the deeper psychic conflicts that define who they really are. At times their interaction feels like a struggle of wills, at others like a reversal of roles, with the nurse increasingly performing for the actress and the actress quietly observing the nurse. There are moments where we feel like we are witnessing an erotic relationship with a sadomasochistic dimension. Are we watching two different people merging into one, or one person taking over the other’s identity, or even two sides of the same split personality?

Both Bergman and Horn reveal the tension between the external world, where the socially inscribed body reigns and the internal world of psychic reality, locus of the lived body with its drives and desires. Bergman exploits the formal devices of the medium of film to mimic the mechanisms of psychic life: Dramatic contrast of light and dark, repetition of identical and near-identical images, camera angles, close-ups, cutting and splicing.

Horn’s writings from Iceland attest to the projection of the libidinal energy onto the landscape. Employing cinematic techniques in her drawings and photographic suites, Horn has developed a syntax of forms whereby her erotic imagination—real and fantasized, conscious and unconscious—coalesces into a unique cosmology. Concrete manifestations of Horn’s sublimated sexuality: The hot springs and pools that double as eyes and orifices, the phallic quality of her stuffed birds photographed from behind, the gridded peep hole views of the girl’s locker room in ‘Her, Her, Her and Her’ (2002-2003), the serial images of Margret sweating in the thermal waters. The clown in ‘Cabinet of’ (2001-2002) with its smeared red nose and lips can be read a symbol of sexual arousal, while revealing the relationship between identity, mask and performance. ‘a.k.a.’ (2008-2009), a series of self-portraits, charts Horn’s exploration of her androgyny to reveal the relationship between gender and performance and, like Bergman, the multiplicity and fluidity of identity.

‘Roni Horn. ‘SWEET IS THE SWAMP WITH ITS SECRETS’ is curated by Jerry Gorovoy for Hauser & Wirth Monaco. The title is taken from a poem by Emily Dickinson.

Images: Roni Horn, Key and Cue, No. 1740 SWEET IS THE SWAMP WITH ITS SECRETS, 1994/2007, Aluminium and black plastic, 193 x 5.1 x 5.1 cm / 76 x 2 x 2 in © Roni Horn. Photo: Genevieve Hanson.

Scroll up

Exposition

Roni Horn. ‘SWEET IS THE SWAMP WITH ITS SECRETS’

L’événement en images

1/3

« Maintenant je te vois. Tu es assise sur le lit, dos contre le mur, jambes écartées. Je m’agenouille entre elles
et tu me dis : c’était doux, c’était si doux. »
Roni Horn, ‘CROSSING A FIELD I REMEMBER’

L’exposition traite pour la première fois l’oeuvre de Roni Horn à travers le prisme du cinéma. Le travail photographique et sculptural de Roni Horn est présenté aux côtés d’extraits de ‘Persona’, le film d’Ingmar Bergman datant de 1966. Non seulement cette juxtaposition illustre la profonde influence du cinéma sur l’oeuvre de Roni Horn, à la fois sur le plan formel et conceptuel, mais elle met également en lumière sa psychosexualité intense souvent immergée dans une rigueur conceptuelle et un caractère empirique. Alors que les mots, la littérature et le langage sont considérés comme les clés de la pratique de l’artiste, cette exposition révèle que le corps, le désir et la sexualité – les « secrets » du « marécage » (« swamp ») – sont tout autant essentiels à l’instabilité et la mutabilité de l’identité, son sujet de prédilection. 

Comme beaucoup d’oeuvres de Roni Horn, le film de Bergman s’articule autour de la formation d’une paire – l’interaction entre deux femmes : Elizabeth, une actrice qui, pour une raison inconnue, refuse soudainement de parler, et Alma, l’infirmière s’occupant de la soigner. Alors que leur relation en constante évolution défie une narration définie, Bergman présente visuellement et formellement l’écaillement des masques de chacune pour révéler les conflits psychiques profonds qui définissent qui elles sont vraiment. Par moments leur interaction prend la forme d’une lutte des volontés, par d’autres elle s’apparente à un inversement des rôles, l’infirmière se produisant de plus en plus pour l’actrice et l’actrice l’observant en silence. À certains moments, le spectateur croit être témoin d’une relation érotique à la dimension sadomasochiste. Sommes-nous en train de regarder deux personnes différentes fusionner pour n’en devenir qu’une, une personne prendre l’identité de l’autre, ou encore deux facettes de la même personnalité dédoublée ? 

Bergman et Horn révèlent tous les deux la tension entre le monde extérieur, où le corps social règne, et le monde intérieur de la réalité psychique, lieu du corps propre avec ses volontés et ses désirs. Bergman exploite les dispositifs formels du medium cinématographique pour imiter les mécanismes de la vie psychique : contraste dramatique entre la lumière et l’obscurité, répétition d’images identiques et quasi-identiques, angles de caméra, plans serrés, découpes et collages. 

Les écrits de Horn en Islande témoignent de la projection d’une énergie libidinale sur le paysage. Employant des techniques cinématographiques dans ses suites de dessins et de photographies, Horn a développé une syntaxe par laquelle son imagination érotique – réelle et fantasmée, consciente et inconsciente – se fond dans une cosmologie unique. Parmi les manifestations concrètes de la sexualité sublimée de Horn : les sources chaudes et étangs qui deviennent des yeux et des orifices, la dimension phallique de ses oiseaux empaillés photographiés de dos, les vues depuis un judas d’une jeune fille dans son vestiaire dans ‘Her, Her, Her and Her’ (2002-2003), les images en série de Margret transpirant dans les eaux thermales. Le clown dans ‘Cabinet of’ (2001-2002) avec son nez rouge et sa bouche effacés peut être considéré comme un symbole d’excitation sexuelle, tout en révélant la relation entre identité, masque et performance. ‘a.k.a.’ (2008-2009), une série d’autoportraits, documente l’exploration de la propre androgynie de Horn pour révéler la relation entre genre et performance et, comme Bergman, la multiplicité et la fluidité de l’identité. 

‘Roni Horn. ‘SWEET IS THE SWAMP WITH ITS SECRETS’’ est une exposition sous le commissariat de Jerry Gorovoy pour Hauser & Wirth Monaco. Son titre s’inspire d’un poème d’Emily Dickinson. 

Images:
Roni Horn, Key and Cue, No. 1740 SWEET IS THE SWAMP WITH ITS SECRETS, 1994/2007, Aluminium and black plastic, 193 x 5.1 x 5.1 cm / 76 x 2 x 2 in © Roni Horn. Photo: Genevieve Hanson.

Roni Horn, Clownpout (4), 2002-2003, 2 C-printed photographs cut and reassembled, 103.5 x 114.9 cm / 40 3/4 x 45 1/4 in © Roni Horn, Courtesy the artist and Hauser & Wirth, Photo: Roni Horn Studio 

Still from ‘Persona’ by Ingmar Bergman, © AB Svensk Filmindustri (1966), Photo: Sven Nykvist 

Haut de page